Friday, January 13, 2017

County Park Board NEEDS 2 Democrats

County Park Board Needs Two Democrats

Two years ago County Council was advised of the law regarding politically balancing the Park Board. They have two appointees and the two cannot be of the same political party. The pertinent section of the Indiana Code is:

c) A county board shall be appointed as follows:(1) Two (2) members shall be appointed by the judge of the circuit court.(2) One (1) member shall be appointed by the county executive.(3) Two (2) members shall be appointed by the county fiscal body.The members appointed under subdivisions (1), (2), and (3) shall be appointed on the basis of their interest in and knowledge of parks and recreation, but no more than one (1) member appointed under subdivisions (1) and (3) may be affiliated with the same political party. ( IC 36-10-3-4c)
Council's appointees are both Republicans as shown by their voting records in the primaries. 

Commissioners get one appointment so it can be of either party. 

The judge of the circuit court gets the other 2 appointments. Judge Humphrey rescinded the appointment of his 2nd appointee upon learning that he was of the same party as his first appointee (Republican) in order to bring  the board into compliance with state code. That board position remains unfilled at this time. So a Democrat is needed to fill that spot. Contact Judge Humphey's office for that at 812-537-8865 or 215 West High Street, Lawrenceburg IN 47025.

Council is to make their appointment at their meeting January 24, 2017. In order to comply with the law, they will also need to find a Democrat for that appointment. Contact Liz Morris President of Council at or 812-637-0522.

The Park Board needs two Democrats to fill these spots and balance their board politically. For more information on the County Parks check the Jan 9, 2017 Register

and the Park Board's website at

If you are interested, you can also email Park Board President Doug Burger at or one of the other board members listed on the park board’s new web site located at There you also can find out more about the county parks. 

Current members of the Dearborn County Parks Board are:
Doug Burger, Terry Stephens, Jim Red Elk, Steve Walker, and Mike Hornbach (County Extension).

No comments: