Tuesday, January 04, 2011

4 January 2011 Dearborn County Commissioners Meeting Notes

4 January 2011 Dearborn County Commissioners Meeting Notes

Present: Jeff Hughes, President, Tom Orschell, and Shane McHenry
Also present: Bill Ewbank, County Coordinator, and Andrew Baudendistel, newly appointed Attorney.

ABSENT: Gayle Pennington, Auditor (Connie Fromhold took minutes)

The sound system had a distinct echo reverb throughout the entire meeting. Attempts to fix it were unsuccessful.

Hughes was elected as President of the commissioners.


Maximus Consulting services- remains tabled

Vacate portion of Happy Hollow Road- tabled

Vacate portion of Willoughby Road-rescheduled for JAN 18TH meeting. Tabled until then.

Hi-Tech Contract renewal- Ewbank stated that committee hasn’t met yet due to the holidays. Tabled.


Commissioners decided to have the agenda set 5 days in advance of the meeting.

Reorganization and appointments:

County Attorney- Andrew Baudendistel was nominated by Shane McHenry. Orschell hadn’t had time to meet with him so he abstained. Baudendistel was appointed county attorney, with Orschell abstaining.

HIGHWAY – Todd Listerman gave a 10-minute report

Wants to split the department into two- one as engineer and the other as highway supervisor.
This will free up the position of eng ass’t for $32,000 plus $13,000 benefits. This will not affect the level of services for taxpayers.
Engineer will be Listerman and Grieve will be the Highway Supervisor. The supervisor will be appointed by county commissioners, the same as the engineer. Orschell asked to do this on a 90-day trial to see how this separation works out. Commissioners voted to do this.

INDOT Contract for flashers at 3 local schools were signed.

Spoke to Dan McAllister Excavating for Holt Road. When good weather will get the old ford out and install new one.

Commissioners reappointed and appointed the following:

Bill Shelton- Bldg Inspector
Margaret Minzner- GIS
Bill Black- EMA
Charlie Ashley- 911
Mike Burgess- Vet services officer
Eric Hartmann- Maintenance as non-exempt employee
Marlene Underwood- Animal Control
Bill Ewbank- County Coordinator
Shane McHenry - Common construction wage and Juvenile Adv Board
Orschell kept his same boards-County Farm EMA and Redevelopment
Hughes – SEIRPC, OKI, and Plan Commission
Ken Nelson -Plan Commission
Rodney Dennerline and Mike Hankins -Health Board
Art Wenzel- Cemetery Board
Mike Heffelmire and Richard Bauer- County Farm
Barry Pruss and Robert Lischge ( sp ?)- Sewer Board
Jim Dole- Alcohol Board
Charlotte Hastings, Dave Lorey, and Debbie Morris -CVTB
Ken Nelson Nicole Daily- BZA
PTABOA-Bill Hartwell, Mark Neff, and Mark Hardenbeck

Mary Alice Horton- Aurora Public Library – Horton asked to appoint Sue Manford and Angela Burkhardt to the board. Commissioners approved. It was unclear if Horton was also appointed.

AUDITOR- Connie Fromhold - Claims and minutes approved.

COUNTY COORDINATOR- Bill Ewbank- spoke with Jack Gay and he will continue with the real estate acquisitions from December. He suggested we get title searches on all real estate purchased and environmental on Votaw Building. Some suits Gay will continue to monitor. Dispute with Aurora on Extension Services lease. Other accident suits. Baudendistel will communicate and coordinate with Gay.

Ewbank- appoint county extension agent signatory authority for County Farm for US Dept of Ag – Heffelmire was appointed to this.

L-bg Conservancy District- election is Jan 10th- Hughes was voted to make that decision for the ballot for the county. [NOTE: Presumably, the county gets a vote as they own land in the district????]

ATTORNEY- Andrew Baudendistel- introduced himself as being from Lawrenceburg- and lives in Guilford now. He’s honored to be appointed. Knows there’s been a lot of turnover in the position and will work with Gay to coordinate transition.

Tom Orschell- what do you think about 6 PM for evening meeting? Commissioners voted to move evening meeting time to 6 PM. Congratulated Shane – looking forward to working with him. He also wanted all 3 commissioners to sign a letter stating the same to Jud McMillin as our new representative.

Shane McHenry- thanked Orschell and looking forward to working with him. He also recognized an eagle Scout- in the audience.


Ginny Daum- Medical reserve corps director - have a total of 7 nurse aides- state also planning a mock earthquake training in May sometime. 26 MRC (Medical reserve Corps) units in Indiana out of 92 counties. Switzerland County and Dearborn are the only 2 in SE Indiana. She has a pharmacist who works for Krogers who will help network for medications in emergencies. Caring First in St. Leon has women to deploy. In southern county they use Interim Health care – for home health care issues. Commissioners are heads of the fiduciary funds. They have about $15,000 in funds. They are getting a small mobile unit with ICU equipment. Stephanie Craig- DCH Emergency preparedness- is working with Daum. She will not sign any memoranda of understanding without commissioner’s approval. Discussed working with the Red Cross. Wants to have a meeting with commissioners to work on a merger. Daum went on in detail about various services and shelters she’d be setting up in the event of a disaster.

Orschell suggested moving the podium to the side so the audience can hear better.

Mark Itura (sp?)- congratulated the elected commissioners and appreciated Listerman working to save money for the county.

Meeting adjourned at 8:10 PM

Christine Brauer Mueller
Lawrenceburg Township

No comments: